F1: Verstappen wins Bahrain GP as Red Bull begins 2024 season in commanding fashion.

March 2, 2024

Max Verstappen kicked off his pursuit of a fourth consecutive Formula 1 title with a dominant victory at the Bahrain Grand Prix, starting from pole position and securing the fastest lap, finishing 22.457 seconds ahead of teammate Sergio Perez.

Leading every lap, the Dutch driver’s commanding performance echoed Red Bull’s one-two from the previous year, delivering a clear message to competitors seeking a change in dynamics.

Under the Sakhir desert’s floodlights, Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz claimed the third spot on the podium, with teammate Charles Leclerc securing fourth place.

The triumph marked Red Bull’s 114th victory since their entry into Formula 1, placing them on par with former champions Williams in the all-time list. Verstappen’s career wins now tally to 55.

Maintaining a championship lead for 40 consecutive races since May 2022 and boasting an eight-race winning streak since Japan in September, Verstappen showcased even greater dominance this year.

Expressing his satisfaction over the team radio, Verstappen said, “That was simply lovely; what a great race, great start to the year, guys. One-two as well. Fantastic.”

Mercedes’ George Russell claimed the fifth position, followed by McLaren’s Lando Norris in sixth.

Seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton, starting from ninth, finished seventh for Mercedes, while McLaren’s Oscar Piastri secured the eighth spot.

Fernando Alonso claimed ninth for Aston Martin, and teammate Lance Stroll rounded out the top ten.

culled from People’s Gazette.